A Bit of Winter Paradise🌴

What can I say? It’s beautiful in the Bahamas! We typically wake up to morning clouds and many days, a brief shower. But then out comes the sun and temps are in the 70’s and low 80’s. My kinda weather! Only we, and the Canadians, swim here in the winter – Bahamians think it much too cold.

Morning rainbow
I go up to the newly rebuilt school most mornings. They’re still teaching remotely so I’m mostly unpacking and organizing.

Dan usually has boat chores to keep him busy and in the afternoons we’re out in the dinghy, poking around looking for lobsters. He’s had some good luck and I’ve already made some curried lobster sandwiches, lobster pasta salad and have one for the freezer. Certainly helps with our food supply.

Wow!! That was a big guy!
One day he brought this guy up to say hello

I’ve been enjoying my walks here. I usually walk the dirt road up to the north end and treat myself coming back via the beach. Constantly have my eyes to the sand, watching for sea glass and sea beans.

So many decisions!

When we spot the local fishermen coming into the harbor, we hop in the dinghy and meet them at the marina to see if they have anything to sell. They typically catch snapper, wahoo, mahi mahi or tuna (our favorite).

The next few weeks we will try to get in the holiday spirit – a bit tough while in shorts. There are more cruisers coming into the harbor each day which gives us more friends to come out and play with !

And the there’s the flowers❤️🇧🇸

About cruisingwithcuttingclass

Taught for 30 years, now enjoying the cruising life from New England to the Bahamas!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Bit of Winter Paradise🌴

  1. LSulickM says:

    So nice to see Elbow Cay recovering. Merry Christmas and hugs to all for a Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a comment